yMusic‘s album, “Balance Problems,” creates classical compositions paired with electronic production, which delivers an end product that is beautiful, yet haunting.  They create dream-like, classical soundscapes with the help of Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Marcos Balter, and more. Behind the direction of Ryan Lott (Son Lux), this group of six instrumentalists brings together elements you would not expect to hear in classical music. Tip toeing on experimental and classical lines,  yMusic captures their listeners and nearly creates sight from sound.  Close your eyes, and you might see the same landscapes that the band portrays in their video for the song, “Bladed Stance.”  Stream the video below:

Official Press Release:

Balance Problems is the sophomore release from yMusic — a group of six New York City instrumentalists flourishing in the overlap between the pop and classical worlds. The much-anticipated follow-up to 2011’s Beautiful Mechanical (Time Out New York’s #1 Classical Record of the Year) features stunning new compositions from Nico Muhly, Sufjan Stevens, Andrew Norman, Mark Dancigers, Jeremy Turner, Marcos Balter, and Timo Andres, all realized through the ensemble’s striking performances.
Since their inception in 2008, yMusic has sought to bring a classical chamber music aesthetic to venues outside the traditional concert hall. Their unique configuration (string trio, flute, clarinet, and trumpet) has attracted the attention of high profile collaborators – from Dirty Projectors to My Brightest Diamond – and more recently has led to recordings with singer-songwriters Ben Folds and José González. The group has also inspired an expanding repertoire of original works by some of today’s foremost composers. With this new release, world-class compositions and peerless performances share the center-stage, as the group continues to develop their own intense, nuanced style around a host of new works.

Balance Problems operates in a different realm than traditional chamber music. The album’s intricate sonic landscape is heavily impacted by genre-defying luminary Ryan Lott, also known as Son Lux, who, after composing the title track to the group’s debut, was brought on as producer and mixing engineer for Balance Problems. With his diverse background in electronic and experimental music, Lott helped push the project to new heights: the limits of the ensemble’s six acoustic instruments are expanded to create a sonic tapestry of enormous depth and subtlety, all while maintaining the integrity of the musicians’ original performances. What results is a sweeping, full-bodied listen that will entice fans of indie rock, baroque pop, and classical music alike.

yMusic’s members have toured and recorded with top artists across genre lines such as Bon Iver, Paul Simon, Bjork, The National, Meredith Monk, Antony & the Johnsons, David Byrne, The New York Philharmonic and Sufjan Stevens.


Balance Problems track list:
1. Balance Problems [Nico Muhly]
2. Bladed Stance [Marcos Balter]
3. Music in Circles (Part 1) [Andrew Norman]
4. Music in Circles (Part 2) [Andrew Norman]
5. The Bear & The Squirrel [Jeremy Turner]
6. Safe Travels [Timo Andres]
7. Everness [Mark Dancigers]
8. Salvator Mundi [Sufjan Stevens]
yMusic tour dates:
10/23 – Institute of Contemporary Art – Boston, MA (2 sets) +
11/15 – Duke Performances – Durham, NC +
11/21 – The Kitchen – New York, NY +
+ – w/ Sam Green